Dealers · licensing · Illinois
How to get a dealer license in Illinois.
What it takes to get a used car dealer license in Illinois, with a link to the official page for every fact.
Checked October 10, 2026 against the official pages linked below. Licensing agency: Illinois Secretary of State, Vehicle Services Department.
The requirements
| Licensing agency | Illinois Secretary of State, Vehicle Services Department · source |
|---|---|
| Surety bond (used dealer) | $50,000 per location (bond or CD) · source |
| Pre-licensing education | Required — certification from prelicensing education program (hours not stated in statute) · source |
| Place of business | See the official page |
| License fee | $1,000 established place of business ($50 each additional); plus $500 Dealer Recovery Fund fee unless selling 25 or fewer autos · source |
Steps
- Start with the licensing agency, Illinois Secretary of State, Vehicle Services Department: read its dealer page and get the current application.
- Complete the pre-licensing education: certification from prelicensing education program (hours not stated in statute).
- Buy a surety bond: $50,000 per location (bond or CD).
- Submit the application with the fee: $1,000 established place of business ($50 each additional); plus $500 Dealer Recovery Fund fee unless selling 25 or fewer autos.
Built from the facts above. Insurance, background checks and zoning rules may also apply; the agency's page has the full list.
Planning to finance your own deals?
In-house financing can need its own license in some states. This summary has no note on one for Illinois; ask the state's financial regulator before you write your first contract.
This is a summary, not legal advice. The agency's own page governs. All states