Dealers · licensing · Indiana
How to get a dealer license in Indiana.
What it takes to get a used car dealer license in Indiana, with a link to the official page for every fact.
Checked October 10, 2026 against the official pages linked below. Licensing agency: Indiana Secretary of State, Auto Dealer Services Division.
The requirements
| Licensing agency | Indiana Secretary of State, Auto Dealer Services Division · source |
|---|---|
| Surety bond (used dealer) | $25,000 · source |
| Pre-licensing education | Required — dealer training completion certificate (IIADA course) for used dealers not previously licensed; hours not stated · source |
| Place of business | Not a residence/temporary; open 30+ hrs/wk; 1,300+ sq ft; display for 10+ vehicles; furnished 100 sq ft office; permanent sign; customer parking; not in strip mall; zoning affidavit · source |
| License fee | See the official page |
Steps
- Start with the licensing agency, Indiana Secretary of State, Auto Dealer Services Division: read its dealer page and get the current application.
- Complete the pre-licensing education: dealer training completion certificate (IIADA course) for used dealers not previously licensed; hours not stated.
- Set up your place of business: Not a residence/temporary; open 30+ hrs/wk; 1,300+ sq ft; display for 10+ vehicles; furnished 100 sq ft office; permanent sign; customer parking; not in strip mall; zoning affidavit.
- Buy a surety bond: $25,000.
- Submit the application with the fees listed on the official page.
- If you will finance your own deals, check the separate finance license below before your first contract.
Built from the facts above. Insurance, background checks and zoning rules may also apply; the agency's page has the full list.
Planning to finance your own deals?
Dealers that originate credit sales, including buy-here-pay-here, must register with the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions. Source.
This is a summary, not legal advice. The agency's own page governs. All states